The Coach Who Knew Too Much

A feeling of gloom cluttered my mind when I woke up this morning. Sadness has taunted me many times before. But I’m not the only one who knew. 

About a month ago, I decided to move my office/Writer’s Cave from a room in our basement, to a brighter one upstairs. With a busy day-job, a second book proposal in progress, and a driven personality that multi-tasks far too many things, I still haven’t put everything in its place. Once again, I’m in a position of self-induced guilt.

If I read, I think I should write. If I write, I think I should organize. If I organize, I feel like I should work on a project from my day-job. And in all of that, I feel guilty for not relaxing more with my husband. (A stubby finger of guilt really pokes my mind when I take a night off and sit with him on the couch). The ongoing dilemma threatens to wrestle me until I’m pinned to the mat — useless. This is why I need my Coach.

A coach pushes, encourages, teaches, and offers some surprising insights. This morning, my Coach knew my mind-set before I ever spoke a word. He recognized my paralyzed state, identified the root problem, and addressed it early. How? My Coach is God. He sees all, hears all, and even reads my mind. He understands what I need long before I do.

So after Bible Study this morning, I chuckled when I read the following devotion waiting in my inbox:

“Do not be weighed down by the clutter in your life: lots of little chores to do sometime, in no particular order. If you focus too much on these petty tasks, trying to get them all out of the way, you will discover that they are endless. They can eat up as much timer as you devote to them.
 
Instead of trying to do all your chores at once,  choose the ones that need to be done today. Let the rest slip into the background of your mind, so I can be in the forefront of your awareness. Remember that your ultimate goal is living close to Me, being responsive to My initiatives. I can communicate with you most readily when your mind is uncluttered and turned toward Me. Seek My Face continually throughout this day. Let My Presence bring order to your thoughts, infusing Peace into your entire being.”
 
I needed permission to take one thing at a time, and to let a few other things go, so I can finish things I’ve started. He released me to keep my focus on Him, and trust Him to provide all the resources necessary to do what’s important. He created time, so He will create as much as I need, as long as I seek Him first. He generates money, so He will give me just enough to take care of my obligations, when I keep my eyes on Him. He is the Author of peace, so He will bring peace to all areas of my influence, if I allow His peace to fill me first.
 
Sometimes it’s scary how well my Coach knows me. I’m not always the best student. But, at times like this, when I wake up feeling cluttered, thread-bare, and wonder how I’ll make it through the day, His personal touch boosts my spirits. I’m glad He pushes me, otherwise, I’d give up. I guess my Coach doesn’t know too much after all. Thanks to Him, I feel like putting a few things away.
 
Anita FreshFaith @ Work
 

Matthew 6:33 (NIV)

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

Leave a Reply

